Solved How to get a sum into a table (2 Viewers)

JS Smith

Local time
Yesterday, 20:12
Hi! I'm an Access novice and got a new job. I'm trying to reduce some of the duplication to get more efficient. They have Access but nothing like Sharepoint or other PM software. Eventually, there will be a nice looking Form that can be printed as a Change Order for contractors while feeding a Table for reports and such. I'd like a couple of formulas or something to feed a couple fields in the Table. Not sure my explanation is clear so here's a screen shot with an idea of what I'm after. Everything I've found is experts saying never do calculations in Access, but trying to reduce steps, forgo calculator, and reduce data entry errors to complete the task.

Thanks, in advance, for any help you can provide! :)

1617231349863.png

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 19:12
Hi. Welcome to AWF!

If you want to use a database, instead of Excel, you would want to avoid storing calculated values in the table. If you want to perform some calculations and display the results, you can use a query.

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 22:12
There are lots of reasons for not storing calculated results. Do some reading on normalization or just take our word for now. Do NOT store the results of calculations. As theDBguy suggested, you can include a calculated field in a query and bind it to your form, when you change an argument of the calculation, the form will automagically reflect the new result. Another option is to perform the calculations in the form. There are pros and cons of each and one or the other might turn out to be better/easier for you. To display the results of a calculation, you would use an unbound control. The ControlSource would be the calculation. ForExample:
=FieldA * (FieldB + FieldC)