How to have a report with more than 2 pages? (1 Viewer)

waleedimtiaz

Local time
Today, 23:37
Hey everyone, I am a beginner in MS Access. I want to make a report with around 4-5 pages, but Access limits me to make a report within 2 pages only.
I tried to make two different reports and then tried to combine them as subreports, in the REPORT VIEW I can see all 4 pages, but in the PRINT PREVIEW I can't see all the pages, in fact, I can only see a blank page as there is no space to combine these 2 reports in the print preview.

plog

Banishment Pending
Local time
Today, 15:37
Debugging 101 - Get something working.

Sounds like you tried to do everything at once and there's so many things its impossible to tell which one went sideways. I would start a new report and try and build the report you want one piece at a time. Add 1 field and test it to see that it does what you expect. Once it does, add the second piece, test to see if it works like you want, then add a third, test it.....etc etc.

If you would like to post your database I'm sure we could diagnose the issue. From experience Access definitely doesn't limit you to just 2 pages. And I mean that in a couple of ways--1 if you have a million names in a table and just have it spit out name after name after name it will create as many pages as necessary to spit out those million names. 2- If I want to manually force a page break after every single one of those names such that my report is 1 million pages long it will allow me to do that as well.

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 16:37
If you need four pages to lay out all your data fields, your table is not correctly defined so you need to take a pretty big step backwards. It's time to do some reading about normalization and go back to the drawing board to recreate your tables. If you post the db, we can take a look at it.

waleedimtiaz

Local time
Debugging 101 - Get something working.