How to test program before releasing new version? (2 Viewers)

Josef P.

Local time
Today, 16:54
[OT]
... to compare your new version against Prod. And then go thru the difference reports line by line to make sure there is no odd code in your changes, ...
This functionality is also given if you use a version control system like Git or similar.
However, I believe that only a few Access developers use a VCS and/or automated testing. I just don't understand the reason, because it's not particularly complicated.

amorosik

Local time
All great ideas for testing. As a former release manager, I note that the OP mentioned 'the moment of release', and confined the question to functional verification.
So if I may, I'd add the following: consider running something like Access Detective to compare your new version against Prod. And then go thru the difference reports line by line to make sure there is no odd code in your changes, and that all expected changes are there. There are many reasons why this can inadvertently happen, most particularly if you have a team of Access developers all working multiple change requests for a single release.
Jack

This check is simple to perform
Just export the entire Access procedure to text file format (see Vcs-Access)
Then compare the new version with the old one simply using one of the many programs for comparing text files
I use WinMerge but many others are available

amorosik

Local time
Which implies carefully keeping older versions,

???
Are you saying that's not common practice?
Personally, I always keep all copies of previous versions, with descriptions of the changes made
But I must say that in reality I have never needed them
I keep them anyway because I think that security is never enough

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 10:54
Not for the newbees. They need to get burned a few times before they understand the importance of version control whether you do it with a formal app or roll your own.