Indexing (1 Viewer)

FluffyKitten

Jumble Bunny
Local time
Today, 02:50
Hi

I'm fairly new to working with SQL as a be to my db. The SQL db has several views that need to be accessed through the fe. Someone has advised me to use Indexing to deal with this, however, the small amount of information I am able to find on the internet hints that you would need to update these frequently if any of the underlying views etc change.

Is there anyone there who can give me an overview of what use indexing is and what the benefits would be before I waste too much time trying to learn and change only to find that it's not viable to our system. The be of the system is held on a network and used by around 100 users.

Thank you so much in advance for any advice you can offer.

WayneRyan

AWF VIP
Local time
fluffy,

The server will maintain your indexes. Unless you have an unusually
large amount of data, you don't need a real detailed plan.

The server will automatically create a unique index for your primary
key field(s).

Any fields that you use in the Where/Order by clauses for your search
forms should be indexed. This will speed up retrieval of data.

You should be wary of indexing large string values as they will
incur quite a bit of overhead.

Wayne

FluffyKitten

Jumble Bunny
Local time
Are you saying that as long as i have views theres no need to use indexes? that would be a relief.

WayneRyan

AWF VIP
Local time
Fluffy,

Not at all.

Views are just select queries and provide a way to look at your data.
To make this more efficient, any criteria referenced in the Where/Order By
clauses should have an index on it.

Once indexes are defined, the server will maintain them. There is no
need to refresh/regenerate them.

You should still be wary about indexing large string fields.

hth,
Wayne

FluffyKitten

Jumble Bunny
Local time
Thanks Wayne i;ll investigate indexing further then and see if thats going to be of any use to us and if not well at last i mite learn something

Endre