Is a ListBox the Correct Solution? (1 Viewer)

painterz

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 22:48
Hi All,

I've been stuck on this for days and I'm still stuck. :banghead:

I have a main form (Neighborhood). Within it I have a subform (Family)--master/child link AddressID, within Family I have a subform People, master/child FamilyID.

I need the Family subform to display a list of families living at an address (Neighborhood). My first thought was use a datasheet--but I found out you can't have a subform on a datasheet.

My next thought was listbox, but it has to have an updatable query in order to select a record. I don't need the list box to actually do anything except allow the user to select which family to show so the People can be added, deleted, or edited. I've tried making the listbox unbound but couldn't figure out how to get it to work.

I've attached a screen shot. When I move through the Address records using the record selector, all of my data changes except the list box on the Family subform. It looks like it needs to be requeried--so again, I don't think it's the right solution or I don't have it set up correctly.

BTW, I've tried using a datasheet outside of the subform, but it didn't update the FKs in the underlying query.

I've considered a split form, but I've heard it doesn't always format correctly and I've never used one. Any ideas?

Thanks!

Attachments

• listboxquestion.png
    listboxquestion.png
    51.2 KB · Views: 62

MarkK

bit cruncher
Local time
Yesterday, 20:48
I think your UI is too complex. You are building an all-in-one tool and it's getting in its own way.

You have two work-flows that I can discern:
1) manage families moving into and out of an address
2) manage people moving into and out of a family

I recommend you create a mainform/subform tool for each workflow.

painterz

Registered User.
Local time
Hi Mark,