Late binding (1 Viewer)

Eljefegeneo

Still trying to learn
Local time
Yesterday, 22:14
When all the computers at work were upgraded to Windows 10 and Office 365 and I still had my old machine with Office 2010 at home where I do my coding, I had to start using late binding because of some issues with Office 2010 programs; not all of the computers at work were changed over to the new systems at the same time. Now the ones at work have all been converted to either Office 365 or Access 2019 so there no longer exists an issue with having to use late binding. Since I am a programming amateur and often get confused with the nuances of late binding, is it OK to just use early binding with the proper references ticked? I still use Access 2010 at home.

I hope I have explained this clearly. Thanks.

Galaxiom

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 16:14
You can use the Early Binding references so you get the Intellisense and Late Binding commands to create the objects.

Before you release the database, convert the Early Binding variable declarations to Object.

One way to handle this very sim[ply is with Conditional Compilation. You change one value and the compilation changes throughout.

Eljefegeneo

Still trying to learn
Local time
Thank you

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 01:14
From a programming perspective, early binding is much more efficient. I always use early binding unless, I have to deal with varying versions as you did.

Eljefegeneo

Still trying to learn
Local time
Yes, that is why I had to use late binding foe a while. Now testing all the code to make sure all,is ok 2hen I added b@ck the old references.

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 05:14