Method or data member not found (1 Viewer)

Gazzyy

New member
Local time
Yesterday, 22:00
Joined
Jul 12, 2019
Messages
8
Keep getting "compile error: Method or data member not found" on this insert into statement. It is highlighting the "Me.txtSM3". The textbox exists and the reference is spelled correctly so I'm not sure where to go from here.

Code:
sqlStr = "INSERT INTO SavedRecords(Inspector, OrderNum, PCNumber, LogoPart, PhSpec, OrderName, TotalPieces, TotalIssues, GlueIssues, SeamIssues, PassFail, FPY, SizeIssues, ColorIssues, Comments, ProductIssues, SeamMsr1, SeamMsr2, SeamMsr3, SeamPull1, SeamPull2, SeamPull3, CutFibers, MissingCoating) " & _
" VALUES('" & Me.txtQI & ",'" & Me.txtJobnum & "','" & Me.txtpc & "','" & Me.txtLogopart & "','" & Me.txtPH & "','" & Me.txtjobdescription & "','" & Me.txtTotalpieces & "','" & Me.txtTotalissues & "','" & Me.txttotalglue & "','" & Me.txttotalseam & "','" & Me.txtPassfail & "','" & Me.txtFPY & "','" & Me.txttotalsize & "','" & Me.txtcolorissues & "','" & Me.txtComments & "','" & Me.txtproductissues & "','" & Me.txtSM1 & "','" & Me.txtSM2 & "','" & Me.txtSM3 & "','" & Me.SP1 & "','" & Me.txtSP2 & "','" & Me.txtSP3 & "','" & Me.txtcf & "','" & Me.txtmissingcoating & "')"
 

Attachments

  • Logo Database.zip
    79 KB · Views: 66
Last edited:

isladogs

MVP / VIP
Local time
Today, 03:00
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
18,239
Your post was moderated due to the attached file. Until you have 10 posts you need to zip any attachments.

I also added code tags (# button on toolbar) to make the code easier to read
 

Gazzyy

New member
Local time
Yesterday, 22:00
Joined
Jul 12, 2019
Messages
8
Is it good now?
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 03:00
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
14,317
It appears to be something to do with your string.
If you put MSGBOX Me.txtSM3 before it, it does now complain?

Intelllisense finds it.
 

Gazzyy

New member
Local time
Yesterday, 22:00
Joined
Jul 12, 2019
Messages
8
I have had an issue in the past where it would throw a compile error, but it would end up being a completely different reference from what it was highlighting. I have triple checked all of my references to my form and table however I cannot find anything wrong. Could be just overlooking something simple. Do I need to post my entire code?
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 03:00
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
14,317
No,
I've spotted one mistake but that does not make a difference

Code:
" VALUES('" & Me.txtQI & "[COLOR="Red"]'[/COLOR],'"
 

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 21:00
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
27,193
Gasman's discovery of a missing apostrophe earlier in the string might be relevant. Is there a chance that either SM2 or SM3 might at that point contain an apostrophe as a natural data element or component?
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 03:00
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
14,317
This is wrong as well

Code:
 Me.SP1
should be Me.txtSP1

When that is changed as well, it complains about txtSM2
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 03:00
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
14,317
OK,

I have it at least able to compile. Note I changed sqlstr to strSQL

I tend to use bound forms as that is how Access works best I believe.
You are just creating work for yourself this way.

Anyway give it a go, and report back.
I also put Option Explicit at the top of the form module, and LResponse was not declared.?

Good luck

Code:
Private Sub Command164_Click()
Dim LResponse As Integer
Dim strDelim As String, strSQL1 As String, strSQL2 As String, strSQL As String

strDelim = "' , '"

If Me.txtJobnum = "" Then

MsgBox ("No job number. Your data was not saved.")

Exit Sub

End If

Dim sqlStr As String
'MsgBox Me.txtSM3
'sqlStr = "INSERT INTO SavedRecords(Inspector, OrderNum, PCNumber, LogoPart, PhSpec, OrderName, TotalPieces, TotalIssues, GlueIssues, SeamIssues, PassFail, FPY, SizeIssues, ColorIssues, Comments, ProductIssues, SeamMsr1, SeamMsr2, SeamMsr3, SeamPull1, SeamPull2, SeamPull3, CutFibers, MissingCoating) " _
'sqlStr = sqlStr & " VALUES('" & Me.txtQI & ",'" & Me.txtJobnum & "','" & Me.txtpc & "','" & Me.txtLogopart & "','" & Me.txtPH & "','" & Me.txtjobdescription & "','" & Me.txtTotalpieces & "','" & Me.txtTotalissues & "','" & Me.txttotalglue & "','" & Me.txttotalseam & "','" & Me.txtPassfail & "','" & Me.txtFPY & "','" & Me.txttotalsize & "','" & Me.txtcolorissues & "','" & Me.txtComments & "','" & Me.txtproductissues & "','" & Me.txtSM1 & "','" & Me.txtSM2 & "','"
'sqlStr = sqlStr & "'" & Me.txtSM3 & "','" & Me.SP1 & "','" & Me.txtSP2 & "','" & Me.txtSP3 & "','" & Me.txtcf & "','" & Me.txtmissingcoating & "')"
strSQL1 = "INSERT INTO SavedRecords(Inspector, OrderNum, PCNumber, LogoPart, PhSpec, OrderName, TotalPieces, TotalIssues, GlueIssues, SeamIssues, PassFail, FPY, SizeIssues, ColorIssues, Comments, ProductIssues, SeamMsr1, SeamMsr2, SeamMsr3, SeamPull1, SeamPull2, SeamPull3, CutFibers, MissingCoating) "
strSQL2 = " VALUES('" & Me.txtQI & strDelim & Me.txtJobnum & strDelim & Me.txtpc & strDelim & Me.txtLogopart & strDelim & Me.txtPH & strDelim & Me.txtjobdescription & strDelim & Me.txtTotalpieces & strDelim & Me.txtTotalissues & strDelim & Me.txttotalglue & strDelim & Me.txttotalseam & strDelim & Me.txtPassfail & strDelim & Me.txtFPY & strDelim & Me.txttotalsize & strDelim & Me.txtcolorissues & strDelim & Me.txtComments & strDelim & Me.txtproductissues & strDelim & Me.txtSM1 & strDelim & Me.txtSM2 & strDelim & Me.txtSM3 & strDelim & Me.txtSP1 & strDelim & Me.txtSP2 & strDelim & Me.txtSP3 & strDelim & Me.txtcf & strDelim & Me.txtmissingcoating & "')"

strSQL = strSQL1 & strSQL2
Debug.Print strSQL

CurrentDb.Execute strSQL

LResponse = MsgBox("Record saved sucessfully. Do you want to clear the form's contents?", vbYesNo, "Success!")

If LResponse = vbYes Then
Me.txtQI = ""
Me.txtJobnum = ""
Me.txtpc = ""
Me.txtLogopart = ""
Me.txtSM1 = ""
Me.txtSM2 = ""
Me.txtSM3 = ""
Me.txtSP1 = ""
Me.txtSP2 = ""
Me.txtSP3 = ""
Me.txtcolorissues = ""
Me.txttotalsize = ""
Me.txtproductissues = ""
Me.txtTotalpieces = ""
Me.txtTotalissues = ""
Me.txttotalglue = ""
Me.txttotalseam = ""
Me.txtcf = ""
Me.txtPHissue = ""
Me.txtmissingcoating = ""
Me.txtBack = ""
Me.txtPassfail = ""
Me.txtComments = ""
Me.txtPH = ""
Me.txtjobdescription = ""
Me.txtstockcode = ""
Me.txtProduct = ""


Else
Exit Sub

End If

End Sub
 

Gazzyy

New member
Local time
Yesterday, 22:00
Joined
Jul 12, 2019
Messages
8
Getting syntax error in query expression with the new code.
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 03:00
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
14,317
debug print each of the sql strings, strSQL1 should be OK.

I take it you copied and pasted?

I cannot test the form as I do not have the Excel files
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 03:00
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
14,317
OrderNum and FPY are numbers in the table, so remove the quotes from those variables that will populate those fields.
You do not appear to populate InspectDate? that variable would be enclosed with # character.
 

Gazzyy

New member
Local time
Yesterday, 22:00
Joined
Jul 12, 2019
Messages
8
Decided to go bound form route instead. Thanks all for the help!
 

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 10:00
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
19,245
wait... you forgot your bill!
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom