Migrating back-end to MySQL (1 Viewer)

bongbang

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 12:19
I have a working Access DB application with a fair bit of VBA code. It's meant for a single user on one computer (me) and it's not very large (under 10 MB at this point, although it will get bigger when I start adding photos and perhaps even videos to it). There's no compelling need to migrate the back-end right now, but I'm considering it for the following reasons.

1. MySQL Workbench's SQL editor is so much more enjoyable to work with than Access's. Plus Access often adds superfluous parentheses to my code that not only look messy, but also make them more difficult to modify w/ VBA.

2. Separating the front-end and the back-end is supposed to be more stable than putting them all in one big file. I'm not experienced enough to evaluate the claim myself, but I intend never to find out it's true the hard way.

3. I'm still developing this application actively, and if I'm ever to migrate, I figure it will be better now (when things are functional but not Rube Goldbergian) than later.

What I want to know is:

1. Is the pain worth the gain?
2. How much time should I budget for the migration?
3. Many a form of mine has an embedded query as recordsource, which can then be modified by VBA-powered switches on the form. Will these continue to work through ODBC?
4. What are other pitfalls of migration that I should look out for?

From my internet research, Access-MySQL integration is painful to some and painless to others. The information is pretty dated, however. What is the landscape in 2018, with Access 2016 and MySQL 5.7? Thank you.

Last edited:

jleach

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 15:19
I'll definitely agree the FE and BE should be separated, for sure. However, the first step would be to split it out into two separate Access files (that's the easiest, and gets you a lot of bang for your buck, so to speak).