Multiple column combo box (1 Viewer)

Araml

Local time
Today, 20:09
When I use a criteria in a query such as [Forms]![FormName]![ComboBoxName] is there a way to use a value from another column other than the first.
For example, I have a combo box that shows the following records: NameID | CityID. Can I use the record of the cityID in the combo box to search records in other combo boxes?

Thank you for your help

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 12:09
Hi. Yes, try using the Column() property. It's zero based, so column #1 is Column(0).

Araml

Local time
I'm sorry but I'm new to Access and SQL. Can you elaborate how to do that please?

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 11:09
Query object will not recognize Column() property. If you use an SQL statement in RowSource and comboboxes are all on same form, don't need full path.

SELECT fieldname FROM tablename WHERE somefield = [comboboxname].Column(2);

Last edited:

Araml

Local time
I created this thread because I need both the record of the selected NameID and CityID.
About not using Name, it was an example. All my objects are in portuguese, so there's no risk in using reserved words.

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
I edited my post after you read it. Review again.

Araml

Local time
When I try to use the combo box it says "Undefined function 'Combo33.Column' in expression"

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Post your code. Need column index parameter. Combo33.Column(1)

Araml

Local time
SELECT T_Artigo.tamanho, T_Artigo.cor, T_Artigo.nomeID
FROM T_Artigo
WHERE (((T_Artigo.cor)=Combo33.Column(2)) AND ((T_Artigo.nomeID)=[Forms]![Visualizar artigos]![Combo19]));

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
SELECT T_Artigo.tamanho, T_Artigo.cor, T_Artigo.nomeID
FROM T_Artigo
WHERE (((T_Artigo.cor)=Combo33.Column(2)) AND ((T_Artigo.nomeID)=[Forms]![Visualizar artigos]![Combo19]));