Need help with creating word reports (1 Viewer)

Spricar

Local time
Today, 06:41
Hello!

I'm an access newbie and would really appreciate some help on, what is probably, a simple matter;

I have an access form that fills an access table (MS Access 2003). Also, I have a Word (2010) document/template with some template text and empty fields which should be filled with data from access. Is it possible to insert a button in access form which would open a word document and populate appropriate fields with data from that form?

Many thanks in advance

regards
S.

DavidAtWork

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 13:41
Try this code here and paste it into the On-Click event of your button
remember to set a reference to Microsoft Word in Tools/References

Dim appWord As Word.Application
Dim doc As Word.Document

Set appWord = GetObject(, "Word.Application")
appWord.Visible = True
Set doc = appWord.Documents.Open("C:\myFolder\myDocTemplate")
doc.FormFields("ForenameVal").Result = Me.Forename
doc.FormFields("SurnameVal").Result = Me.Surname
doc.FormFields("DOBval").Result = Me.Dob
doc.SaveAs "C:\myFolder\myNewDoc.doc"

This will work when your template has formfields and bookmarked with approriate names such as the ones I've used above and these just need to pointed at the fields on your form.

David

Spricar

Local time
Thanks for your help!

So, if I understand this correctly, this will only write/save in a word document? Or will it open it and fill appropriate fields, so document can be printed?

another question, how can I link blank fields in word template with access data? Should I replace "SurnameVal" with name of the field in template, while "Me.Forename" is a name of the field in access?

I'm sorry if this are stupid questions, but as I've said, I'm an access noob:(

DavidAtWork

Registered User.
Local time
The code above will start an instance of Word, make it visible and then open your template/doc and pre-populate any form fields you've created in your template/doc