Solved need to add a new record via button based on filter from main form (1 Viewer)

jprat

Local time
Today, 06:52
Hi,

I'm new to vba/macros in access. I have a main form that is built from scratch with fields from different tables and I have a search filter on it. When the search filter populates an employee, I want to be able to add a new record (case ID) for that employee. I've tried different codes for the add record button, but it either doesn't work or it just adds a new record to the form entirely and "clears out" the employee that is filtered (see screenshot below). There are also 3 other subforms on the mainform that need to have the new id to populate. I am able to get the save button, other navigation buttons to work on the main form as it should. I just don't know how to do the add record for a specific employee that is being searched. How can I do this?

1617695293500.png

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 19:52
the Normal is that you Type it in the subform.
you first fill your main form with the New record info.
then you go to the subform and fill them.

if all your subform has Link Master/Child fields (caseID), then you do not need
to enter the caseID, only the other fields.

jprat

Local time
the Normal is that you Type it in the subform.
you first fill your main form with the New record info.
then you go to the subform and fill them.

if all your subform has Link Master/Child fields (caseID), then you do not need
to enter the caseID, only the other fields.