New to database creation (1 Viewer)

anthonyphillips

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 23:39
Hi Guys

I am fairly new to designing databases and so far the wizards have been great, I am told to avoid the wizards but when you are clueless they work fine.

The database:
I have designed a database that contains 2 tables linked via the customer name field. The first table is the client details name address etc and then the 2nd table is for booking requests.

The Question:
I need to know when the user clicks on the command button to open a new client record or even a new booking is there a way of showing a blank record instead of the other clients data? Also is there a way of having a box that will look up the name of a client and then return all data on that person.

My thanks in advance, and please remember when posting replies that i am a newb and am confused already lol

Cheers Guys

Anthony

neileg

AWF VIP
Local time
You can change the form properties for Data Entry to Yes. This will give you a new blank form.

You would select your client name from a Combo Box. Depends what you mean by 'all data' as to what happens next.

anthonyphillips

Registered User.
Local time
Thanks - let me expand

You can change the form properties for Data Entry to Yes. This will give you a new blank form.

You would select your client name from a Combo Box. Depends what you mean by 'all data' as to what happens next.

I am looking for the combo box to hold a list of client names, so obviously i link the combo to lookup the client name field fine no probs there, but once that name has been selected i then want the form to auto populate and recall all data from both tables with a relationship to that name.

anthonyphillips

Registered User.
Local time
last post misleading - sorry