Newbie to Windows Mobile... Please explain a few things... (1 Viewer)

Atomic Shrimp

Humanoid lifeform
Local time
Today, 15:33
I've just bought myself a Glofiish M810 mobile phone - it has Windows Mobile 6 on it. I previously owned (and loved) a Palm Treo running PalmOS.

So I'm a newbie to Windows Mobile, and I'm finding a few things a little bit alien, particularly:

Applications don't really close. When I click the 'X' in the top right corner of the screen, the application goes away, but it's still running. If I open Task Manager (or the Running Tasks tab in the memory Applet in Settings), I can see it still running.
I can see that in many cases, it might be desirable to keep an application loaded and running - next time it is called for, it's already there.
BUT... If the application in question wants to talk to the network and I close it, then walk away from a networked area (or turn off WiFi to save power), the application (still running, but hidden) tries to get a network connection and causes the phone to connect via modem, etc.

Aside from using Task Manager, how can I actually close an application when I'm finished with it?

Also...

How do I configure system sounds? When I click 'Stop All' in Task Manager, it kills all running programs, then makes a loud chiming sound. I can't find how to change this sound. It isn't one of the choices in the Sounds and Alerts applet,

dtaylor

Local time
Today, 08:33
Hey,

I also came from the PalmOS but I really like WM. Here's how to fix your task manager issue:
Start>>Settings>>System Tab>>Task Manager>>Button Tab>>Select "End programs by tapping "X"

Hope this helps...feel free to ask away.

Atomic Shrimp

Humanoid lifeform
Local time
Thanks for that, but... there is no Task Manager object in the System tab of my settings.