Pull information from one table to another (1 Viewer)

ValleyGirl

Local time
Yesterday, 16:35
I am brand new to building a database. I am not even sure that a database is what I am looking for. :eek:

What I want is a database to store Quote, Job and Invoicing information. We receive quotes first and then they can, but don't always, turn into jobs. We can also receive a job without quoting it. :confused:

We currently have two spreadsheets. One is for Quotes and the other is for Jobs.

QUOTES INFORMATION
Quote #
Date
Customer Name
Part #
Part Name
Quote Due Date
Qty
Lead Time
Price
Unit

JOBS INFORMATION
Job #
Qty
Quote #
Customer Name
PO#
Part #
Part Name
Est Hours
Start Date
Due Date
Price

As you can see a lot of the information in the Quote spreadsheet is also used in the Job spreadsheet. (Bold represents duplicated items) We currently type the information into each spreadsheet.

Then there are different forms that are filled out for quotes and jobs that contain the information in the spreadsheets.

Is there a way that I can have the QUOTE Table automatically populate the JOB Table information?

I hope this makes sense.

Last edited:

recyan

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 05:05

Is there a way that I can have the QUOTE Table automatically populate the JOB Table information?

There is no need to have duplicate fields in both the tables or to automatically populate the JOB table information.

Thanks

ValleyGirl

Local time
I thought that might be the answer. So the quote/job table should be combined?

recyan

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 05:05
I thought that might be the answer. So the quote/job table should be combined?

Usually, I would think Yes,
but in this case, I would prefer them as separate tables with a 1-1 relationship, as they appear to me, 2 separate entities.

Till someone comes along, just a few off the cuff thoughts (assuming - one quote is for one and only one PartID & one job is for single quote only):

tblCustomers
CustomerID - PK