Query to use values in form as WHERE clause (1 Viewer)

raggajunglist

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 03:45
Morning all,

Am trying to create a really simple form where the user can select one of five fields, an operator (just =, Not, <, and >) and the values are pulled from whatever field is chosen.

I have the form down and can populate the values list based on the field however now i need to use the values in these boxes to create a WHERE clause.
I'm really new to SQL and have only done a couple of online tutorials but i think im on the right lines?

DoCmd.RunSQL "SELECT * FROM qryLinkMasterPrimary WHERE " + cboFields.Value + " " + cboOperator.Value + " " + cboValues.Value

Is this even slightly close? I've tried searching the internet and everything i find is waaaaay too complicated for me to get my head round.
Any help is greatly appreciated

Mike Harkess

rsmonkey

Registered User.
Local time
not far off to be honest..
well first of all define your combo box values as a variable. thus:

valcboFields = Me.cboFields.Value
valcboOperator = Me.cboOperator.Value
valcboValues = Me.cboValues

strSQL = "SELECT * FROM qryLinkMasterPrimary WHERE " & valcboFields & " AND " & valcboOperator & " AND " & valcboValues & ""

Me.(your list box name).Rowsource = strSQL
Me.(your list box name).Requery

I would advise you to use more meaningful names on your Combo's etc..
If your values are dealing with numbers it should have single quotes around it:
'" & valNAME & "'

raggajunglist

Registered User.
Local time
Thanks for the reply rsmonkey,

Thats good news, i thought i was well off :)

Me.(your list box name).Rowsource = strSQL
Me.(your list box name).Requery

Sorry for sounding dumb but there is no listbox is that a prob?
I only have 3 unbound combo boxes and then a command button which i want to run the sql statement.

Is there another way i should be doing it or can i still do it this way round?

Thanks

Mike

ajetrumpet

Banned
Local time
Today, 05:45