Relationship Question - I think?? (1 Viewer)

amerifax

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 05:40
I have a master database, permit. Permit carries many fields that are key to another database . Bld to builder, sb to sub etc. Permit needs to be able to link to job and model, but model also needs to be able to link to job. I know I am probably not using the proper terminology, this is all very new to me. I have drawn it out on paper and it seems that it will work (in my mind). And I have tried reading a few different posts here to try and understand how it works.

I have tables A, B & C. A (master) links to B with seq and C with seq. But then I need C to link back to B (I am not sure with what field yet). So A would be a single to many and B & C would be considered??

Am I asking this correctly??

Thanks,

Heather

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Your nomenclature is confused and confusing. You are perilously close to asking either of a couple of questions, but you will note the long hesitation in getting even one answer. I attacked this question yesterday but backed off because I decided I didn't know at the time what it was that I was missing.

You can have two possible sets of relationships here. You have not given us a couple of key pieces of data so I cannot tell whether you have screwed up your design or are spot-on target. The following cases can apply to the relationships you have described

Code:
       A --> B --> C                    transitive case (or)

B <-- A --> C                    multi-directional JOIN

The problem here is that we don't know which of these (if any) are one//one and which are one//many. We ALSO don't know which, if any, are the PRIME keys and which are secondary keys. Lacking that information, we have a hard time knowing what is going on. Nevertheless, I'll take a shot in the dark here and just qualify my comments.