Relationships for Dummies (1 Viewer)

Winterwolf73

Local time
Today, 17:11
Ok all. As most of you have already figured out I am pretty new to building a database from scratch. From the advice (which was a bit of a slap in the face but well needed) I have received here, I did a bit more research and have cleaned up what I have built so far. One of the things I found in my research was relationships between tables. This is an easy concept to understand. However, when I read about the "Join Type" options this is where I get fuzzy.
So here is the layout of the tables.
I have a table for my customer information. This table is needs to be linked with the following tables: Invoices, Projects, and Payments. My Projects table needs to be linked with the Expenses, Materials, and Suppliers tables.
1597147014749.png

Each customer will more than likely have more than one invoice/project/payment entries. Each project will have more than one expense entries. Where I get fuzzy is which "Join Type" option to use. I have looked for a couple hours to find a dumb down explanation of not only what the option mean, but how they work.
Could someone provide a dumb down explanation of these options please? You would be a HUGE lifesaver.
Thanks,

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 15:11
Hi. See if this article helps. Please pay close attention to the second to the last paragraph.

Winterwolf73

Local time
now I am even more confused. I am not doing this in a query, but setting up the relationship between tables. Once I drag invoice number, for example, from the customer table to the invoice table the same window pops up.

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
now I am even more confused. I am not doing this in a query, but setting up the relationship between tables. Once I drag invoice number, for example, from the customer table to the invoice table the same window pops up.
Hi. Did you read the second to the last paragraph?