Running Query based on drop down menu and textbox (1 Viewer)

George10988

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 15:26
Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to Access and have been put on a project at my job to create a database for a local police station. I have good knowledge in C#; however, not much in VBA or SQL. I am having a problem here that I hope someone can help me with and with as much detail as possible (if possible). I created a form to be a main search form for the whole database. I want the officers to be able to select from five combo boxes on that form. Each combo box is linked to a common query that has all the fields (columns?) from every single table that I have. I basically want them to be able to select their own search parameter from the drop down list that is based off a field. I then want them to be able to type into the text box associated with it to get more specific results. So for example:

First Drop Down = FirstName, LastName, GangAffiliation, StreetName, etc.

Say for example they choose "FirstName" obviously I want them to be able to type in the name they want to search for in the text box and get the appropriate results in query view.

I want them to be able to choose any combinations they desire.

I am able to link textboxes themselves to a query by placing the following code under the criteria area for a query:

Like (IIf(IsNull([Forms]![frmDatabaseSearch]![txtSearchByFirstName]),"*",[Forms]![frmDatabaseSearch]![txtSearchByFirstName]))

however I realized that offering the ability for officers to choose which fields they want to search would be better for this type of database. Any help would be appreciated.

Brianwarnock

Retired
Local time
Today, 21:26
You really need a dropdown box per search criteria and they just select from the boxes, no need to transfer that to a textbox, then for each combo the SQL will show in the Where clause