Search Box question (1 Viewer)

Kill_Switch

Go Easy I'm New
Local time
Today, 06:58
Hello all.

Been scratching my head for awhile now at this. I got most of what I need to do completed, just this search function is giving me a headache. I'm relatively new to M$ Access, and I have the majority of my project done thus far I believe. Can you guys please help me our with the following.

I have an example table as seen in the attachments "vidmartable.gif" Which includes the list of items and their location. As you can see.

I would like to use the following search form "search.gif". The Combo box will look for either the Nato Stock Number or Part Number, and the next text box will be the value to be searched for.

The far right text box, will be where the part is located as per the table above, and after clicking the search button.

Attachments

• vidmartable.gif
    vidmartable.gif
    9.3 KB · Views: 86
  • search.gif
    search.gif
    7.4 KB · Views: 191

JANR

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 11:58
If one NATO Stocknumber or Partnumer can only be in one location you could use a Dlookup to find the location. If it can be located in several location a querysearch may be required.

Aircode:

Code:
Private Search_Click()
Dim sSearch as String
   If Me.[Searchval] = "Nato stock number" Then
 sSearch = Dlookup("Location", "Vidmars", "[NATO Stock number] = '" & Me.[Enter number to search] & "')
   Else
 sSearch = Dlookup("location", " Vidmars", "[Part Number] = '" & Me.[Enter Number to search] & "')
   End If
me.Location = sSearch
End Sub

JR

Kill_Switch

Go Easy I'm New
Local time
Only one Nato Stock Number and one Part Number can be in a location.

I right clicked on the submit button (design mode) and clicked build event, and pasted your code, but nothing happened. Am I missing a step?

Also, how does the location get displayed in the "location" text box once it completes its search.

Thank JR for your response.

Last edited:

Kill_Switch

Go Easy I'm New