Simple but not simple project... (1 Viewer)

BoatCapn

Local time
Today, 13:48
I am a relatively newbie to Access. Familiar with relational databases and did some DB programming 20-25 years ago... but can't remember certain things...

I have a pretty basic project I am trying to create. Basically want to create a form to cross reference competitive EDP numbers with my companies EDP numbers. Stuck trying to get the Unbound Text box data into a variable that be referenced in the query.

Simple table: My EDP, Comp#1 EDP, Comp #2 EDP... etc. with about 10,000 records.

Eventually I will add a check box system that will direct the input to correct query field. IE: Check Box #1 will allow Comp#1 input. Check Box #2 will allow Comp#2 input. There are maybe 8-10 competitors...

I can create the query.

So the form would be:

EDP Input [12345]

Query results: Field 1 (My EDP 54321), Field 2 (Comp #1 EDP 12345), Field 3 (Comp#3 EDP 78956)

Eventually I will add the relationship between my EDP and the Item Description (I have this down...)

Just need to get the variable input figured out.

Then I want this to be locked out so the form is the only access and the table cannot be changed.

Thanks!

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 14:48
You might want to step back and rethink your table design. It is not normalized and that will lead to extra code and more complications throughout the entire application. Best to get out of the weeds and normalize first.

Let's start with
1. Where is the data coming from? Do you already have a cross reference built or is that what you are trying to do?
2. Have you built a schema? Can you post it please?
3. I understand why you might not want random people updating the cross reference but how can you be sure you won't need to do business with a new company next week?

BoatCapn

Local time