Spell Check Specific Field from a module (1 Viewer)

Eccles

Local time
Today, 15:35
Hello,
I am new to access and am currently making a data base where I have a button on a on the main form header which when clicked calls a function in a module to spell check a specific field in a subform. The code when highlights the text as it should however the DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdSpelling doesnt seem to actually check the spelling? Please see the code below. Any help would be great!

Public Function FUNC_SpellCheck()

On Error Resume Next

Dim ctlSpell As Control

Set ctlSpell = [Forms]![MainForm]![SubForm1]![Subform2].[Form]![TextField]

If TypeOf ctlSpell Is TextBox Then

If IsNull(Len(ctlSpell)) Or Len(ctlSpell) = 0 Then

ctlSpell.SetFocus

Exit Function

End If

With ctlSpell

.SetFocus

.SelStart = 0

.SelLength = Len(ctlSpell)

DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdSpelling

End With

End If

End Function

Isaac

Lifelong Learner
Local time
Today, 08:35
Remove On Error Resume Next, first of all. Putting that code is usually a bad idea. It means you are telling Access, "If any errors come up, don't tell me about them, and don't tell me what they were. Just finish running the code anyway as best as you can".

Once you can generate a runtime error, you can click Debug and see what the offending line of code is. I glanced at your code but really, the best next step for you is to generate a meaningful error so you can then take the educational opportunity to troubleshoot.

(I will say that a regular form, which is not in popup or modal view, and as long as you have NOT disabled the ribbon toolbar, once you setfocus to a textbox control, then run that command, it would normally bring up the spelling prompt. And those 2 lines of code...Me.Textbox1.Setfocus, DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdSpelling would be all you'd have to do, if the environment is just right).

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Hi. Welcome to AWF!

What is it doing instead?

Eccles

Local time