Solved Split Minutes into Hours, Minutes, Seconds (1 Viewer)

MattBaldry

Self Taught, Learn from the Forums
Local time
Today, 14:53
Hi All,

Does anyone have a snippet somewhere on how to separate a minute field into each hour, minutes, seconds?

IE 75.5 would be 1 hour 15 minutes 30 seconds

~Matt

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
No, but a quick search here will get you hours and minutes

I would probably adapt that.

Of course, then you have google.

ebs17

Local time
Today, 15:53
Code:
? CDate(75.5 / (24 * 60))
01:15:30

? Hour(#01:15:30#), Minute(#01:15:30#), Second(#01:15:30#), Format(#01:15:30#, "hh:nn:ss") 
 1             15            30           01:15:30
Do you know how to explain the 24 and the 60?

Last edited:

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 21:53
Code:
Public Function MinToHrMinSec(ByVal nMinutes As Double) As String
    Dim nSec As Double
    Dim nHr As Double
    Dim nMin As Double
    ' convert to seconds
    nSec = nMinutes * 60
    nHr = nSec \ 3600
    nSec = nSec - (nHr * 3600)
    nMin = nSec \ 60
    nSec = nSec - (nMin * 60)
    MinToHrMinSec = nHr & " hour" & IIf(nHr > 1, "s", "") & " " & nMin & " minute" & IIf(nMin > 1, "s", "") & " " & nSec & " second" & IIf(nSec > 1, "s", "")
End Function

MattBaldry

Local time
Code:
    Dim nSec As Double
    Dim nHr As Double
    Dim nMin As Double
    ' convert to seconds
    nSec = nMinutes * 60
    nHr = nSec \ 3600
    nMin = nSec \ 60
    MinToHrMinSec = nHr & " hour" & IIf(nHr > 1, "s", "") & " " & nMin & " minute" & IIf(nMin > 1, "s", "") & " " & nSec & " second" & IIf(nSec > 1, "s", "")
End Function
Thank you, works perfect

~Matt

Josef P.

Local time
Note to #3:
Eberhard's variant would have the benefit that you have a value to calculate (not a string) and could convert the format via the format setting of a TextBox or Format function.

Example:
Control soruce: = [MinuteTextbox] / 60 / 24
Format: = h" hours "n" minutes "s" seconds"