Start my year in September (1 Viewer)

Techie2k

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 08:37
Hi.

I work in education and I'm currently creating a database for all our SEN pupils. Because their year group will increase by 1 each September I use 'Start Date' and work out the year group from that. That way it will increment automatically each year.

Problem is, it won't update till January, and it needs to +1 on September 1st.

At the moment I use a calculated field in my table with the Expression
Code:
((2014-[StartDate])+6)
How do I add to that expression that if the current year is after September then we add 1 to the year group.

e.g.

I'm adding in our current Year 7's at the moment.
  • I put Start Date into my form as 2013 (it's a value list btw) and the Year Group shows 7.
Which at the moment is correct, but come September, it needs to change to 8.

How do I expand my expression to reflect the above?

Cheers all

T.

I've also just noticed that I'm using 2014 as a constant.. How would I change that to run from 'now'

Last edited:

namliam

The Mailman - AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 09:37
Well you should start at the core of this problem, being you are not storing your startdate as a proper date field.
If you were and had Sept 1, 2009 in there a simple date diff would calculate it for you

Techie2k

Registered User.
Local time
Cheers for your reply - thats that thing i need help with. How do i do what i wnat to accomplish?

Thanks

Chris

Techie2k

Registered User.
Local time
Hi guys.

Thanks for the help so far.. It's taking a bit to sink in though sorry :confused:

Should my expression now look like this?

Code:
(((DateSerial(Year(Date()),1,9))-[StartDate])+6

-----------------------------

I tried that, it said no..

So.. I've made another table and called it tblCurrentYear. in there is one date field with 1/09/2014 in it called dteCurrentYear. I've no problems with updating this field once a year if necessary.