syntax error (missing operator) in query expression (1 Viewer)

LukeH

Local time
Today, 00:55
Hi all,
Im new to programming on Access and have hit a brick wall with this, im trying to select a value from a table, but i keep getting the error runtime error '3075': syntax error(missing operator) in query expression. any help fixing my mistakes would be great.

strSQL1 = "SELECT[Stock]FROM[tbl_barstock]WHERE[Traceability Code]='" & Me.txt_traceability_code.Value & "'"

Ranman256

Local time
Yesterday, 19:55
DONT use the .value.
(cant tell if you have spaces)

strSQL1 = "SELECT [Stock] FROM [tbl_barstock] WHERE [Traceability Code]='" & Me.txt_traceability_code & "'"

and theres no need to write sql, just use a query (no syntax errors) :
SELECT [Stock] FROM [tbl_barstock] WHERE [Traceability Code]=forms!fMyForm!txt_traceability_code

gemma-the-husky

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
is txt_traceability_code a number or a string. That will make a difference.

LukeH

Local time
Sorry guys, ive figured out what was doing it. Its because i was doing that query and then trying to use strSQL1 as a value for insert into. Would you happen to no of a way i could find the number that would direct me to and insert it to a different table. Thanks for your replies

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 18:55
Here is the syntax for an INSERT INTO query.

From your question, I'm going to assume you want to, in essence, copy [Stock] to another table. If that is the only thing you have in that table, then you really COULD use your strSQL1 as follows:

Code:
strSQL2 = "INSERT INTO myothertable (stock) " & strSQL1 & ";"

HOWEVER - if the other table has more fields than just this stock then you might have to do a little bit more. I won't burden you with the extra stuff unless you tell us what ELSE you need.