Tables & relationships (1 Viewer)

Richardr

Local time
Today, 00:37
Hi there,

I'm new to database development and was hoping that someone might be kind enough to tell me if I'm on the right track with my tables - in terms of how they are made up / linked together?

A relationship report is attached to show what I've done thus far.

I work for a small management consulting firm and I'm attempting to build a CRM system to track our clients, campaigns and the sales pipeline. In essence, as briefly as possible, I'm ideally wanting the database to:

1) Store details about our clients [company] and the contacts within each company [contact] including the company's industry (e.g. telecoms) and the contact's interest (e.g. database contract management).

2) I then want to record a marketing initiative [campaign] such as a seminar and identify the event's focus (eg "contract management in the telecoms sector) and note the contacts who attended.

3) The next stage would be to ID those who represent a business opportunity [lead] and then, when deemed appropriate, submit a [proposal]. If the proposal is accepted, it then becomes a [project] which would be worked on by consultants.

4) Finally, the [sales] would show the details of the fees charged, for different elements of the project, delivered by the different consultants.

Any help or advice would be gratefully received. Please let me know if you need any further info.

Attachments

• Doc1.doc
    98 KB · Views: 240

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 02:37
When I tried to read your document, it blurred on me and my tired old eyes didn't do so well. Let me take an approach that might show you how I would begin, and if it looks like what you are doing, then you have positive feedback. You might have to look up certain terms; I will italicize any term we use commonly here as a quick way to define our jargon.