User Access Rights to Forms/Actions (1 Viewer)

MattBaldry

Self Taught, Learn from the Forums
Local time
Today, 12:13
Hello forumers,

Does anyone have a link to some details on how to create user access rights? I have a table, tblEmployee, and I was thinking of adding a multi-select field to the different areas of the company to allow me to tick what they can have access to. At the moment I just look at the logged in user with GetUserName() and then write a VBA code on each form to say if that person is allowed access. My issue with that is, if I want to allow a new user to access this, I have to add them into the code.

If I could just select their access in their profile, this would be much easier for turning these things on and off.

Ideally I would like to be able to select the form for access and then have options for No Access, Read Only, Full Access.

I am sure this exists already, but when I search online, I only get results for the old User Level Access Rights.

~Matt

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Well I spotted one by @arnelgp in that link.?

I did similar in the last place I worked, though I did not present the forms in the Switchboard, so my user level worked mainly on switchboard items?
The user level was also quite simple, Me, Directors, Managers and the rest :)

Saphirah

Local time
Today, 13:13
The Password Login from Isladogs is really good! So i would first go for that.
It is quite hard to prevent users from accessing certain forms and tables in access. If someone with malicous intent and knowledge tries to access data that is not supposed to be for him, then he most certainly can. That is just the limitation of access. (at least to my knowledge)

There are a few things you can do though.
First, lock all tables with a password.
Then go to the settings and hide the content browser, which shows all queries, forms etc...
You probably have a navigation form anyway (something like a main menu), so you won't need it.