VBA code for concatenation (1 Viewer)

ScottXe

Registered User.
Local time
Tomorrow, 06:08
I would like to enter a couple of alphanumeric groups into a field on an input form. After I enter an alphanumeric group, I hit the enter and the data will add into the field and refresh to empty box ready for next entry. If I continue to enter another group and hit enter, the next group will be added to original field with a comma and a space in between. Can someone help build the VBA in after update event to accomplish the task. Thanks!

ypma

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 23:08
Hello Scottxe, must point out I am not a expert in VBA, but enjoy playing with it.

My initial thoughts are that your field to hold your series of numbers needs to be a text box to allow a comma . "txtmainnumgroup"

Then and extra two unbound text boxes , one to enter new data the other as a storage for your existing data from the bound txtmainnumgroup .

Then in the txtinput field

Before update
# Me.txtparking = Me.txtmainnumgroup & "," & Txtinput#

After update
#Me.txtmainnumgroup = txtparking
me.txtinput = " "#

Which seems to work apart from the comma that is inserted with the first number .

so you get ,123,456,789
Hope this give you something to consider as said I am no expert so there may be a better way to achieve you goal.

IF this does not make sense could post a demo access 2010.
Regards Ypma

Attachments

• ConNumbers.accdb
    452 KB · Views: 71
Last edited:

RainLover

VIP From a land downunder
Local time
Tomorrow, 08:08
I would like to enter a couple of alphanumeric groups into a field on an input form. After I enter an alphanumeric group, I hit the enter and the data will add into the field and refresh to empty box ready for next entry. If I continue to enter another group and hit enter, the next group will be added to original field with a comma and a space in between. Can someone help build the VBA in after update event to accomplish the task. Thanks!