VBA to Use Outlook 365 (Web) vs local Outlook (1 Viewer)

NearImpossible

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 07:47
I am using the following code to generate emails from my Access database using a locally installed version of Outlook and it works without issues, but what would I need to change to be able to use Outlook 365 Web?

Code:
Dim oOutlook As Object      'Outlook
Dim oEmailItem As Object    'Email

Set oOutlook = CreateObject("Outlook.application")
Set oEmailItem = oOutlook.CreateItem(olMailItem)
      With oEmailItem
           .SentOnBehalfOfName = "sender"
           .To = "recipient"
           .Subject = "Subject"
           .HTMLBody = "Text"
           .display
           '.Send
       End With

I've never dealt with email setups in VBA before as I'm pretty much self taught via dissecting code I find on the web and Q&A forums like this one.

Please advise

thank you

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
At first blush, I would say you change nothing at all in Access. What you would have to change is the program that is selected for your Windows default e-mail program. However, if you have both "local" and "could" versions installed at the same time, I think your change would have to occur in the CreateObject. Once the object is created, it should all be same/same.

This link suggests that you can control the selected version via VBA Page >>Tools>>References by chosing which library you reference. If so, then again, there should be no particular Access action to do differently.

isladogs

MVP / VIP
Local time
Today, 12:47
I'm going to be more negative and assert that unless the program uses VBA that will make the requirement difficult if not impossible.
So, for example, I don't think its possible to send emails from Access using Windows Mail, Outlook 365 Web, Novell Groupwise etc

As an alternative why not send emails direct from Access using CDO? CDO EMail Tester - Mendip Data Systems. No need for any external email app.