Windows 11 Compatibility (1 Viewer)

Cotswold

Active member
Local time
Today, 12:48
Joined
Dec 31, 2020
Messages
149
Windows 11 is due out soon, so I thought I'd check out if my PC and laptop can run it. Apparently not it seems. I would never consider updating Win10 to 11, but would want a new install of WinPro-11 or whatever they will call it, from a CD. From experience updating any operating system from Microsoft always has the effect of removing the will to live from anyone who attempts it!:sick:

So I ran the TPM test
:arrow:
* and both machines failed. The PC is around 4 years old and the laptop a little younger. On the PC I can retain the processor and replace the motherboard etc and add more memory, but the laptop is not so easy. The PC has an Intel Core i5 3.2GHz x64 with 16GB of Ram, a huge drive and Win10Pro. The laptop, is a slower AMD x64, 16GB Ram but with the somewhat less private and secure Windows10 Home. Windows10 is supported until 2025 and should be OK for a few years beyond that, so no Windows 11 for me it does appear.

The story around the campfire is that Windows will switch to a monthly subscription in the near future. Maybe not with Win11 but it is on the agenda as the preferred method of maintaining growth in OS sales.

Personally I have no intention of becoming a monthly subscriber to Microsoft. So is it time to to prepare for a switch of all my software to Linux? It is possibly only a matter of time before Access is only available on subscription anyway.

(
:arrow:
* for Trusted Platform Module: in the Run box type TPM.msc and run and check. There is also WindowsPCHealthCheckSetup.msi from Microsoft you can install and run )
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 12:48
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
10,546
I'm in the same boat, except for the fact that I upgraded about 20 PCs from Win7/8 to 10 without any issues.?
I have a HP Envy 17 laptop with an i7 @3.4G and a zoostorm desktop that we bought as a server for my last place of work with also an i7.
I contacted Zoostorm and they confirmed no TPM. They said I could upgrade it, but would be better buying a new PC. As it is used infrequently, not worth the bother or the cost. HP site with serial number confirmed same.

I am in no rush. I have my own laptop with Win10 pro on it and more than happy with that. I was just curious to try it out.
 

Eugene-LS

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 14:48
Joined
Dec 7, 2018
Messages
351
I was just curious to try it out.
I got all the same for my ASUS H97-PLUS Mother Bord, but it has TRM expansion slot (check out that in yours) - already made order for TRM-2 module (20-1 pin) - I will receive it in beginning of November ..
...
Just 1280 RUR = Аpрrox. 16.25 Pounds ...
 
Last edited:

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 19:48
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
16,394
if you will just make your fingers work.
there are many "hacks" on the net that you can use so that you can install windows 11
without tpm or your processor is not supported.

if you are adventurous (like me), you can download a modified version of win 11 that
bypass all checks and automatically activate it (there are also sites that will teach you
how to permanently activate it). but still this windows got updates.
 

Eugene-LS

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 14:48
Joined
Dec 7, 2018
Messages
351
if you will just make your fingers work.
there are many "hacks" on the net that you can use so that you can install windows 11
Try Google Translate to read that:
Да конечно , это один из вариантов решения.
Но вы будите использовать систему уже на "Свой Страх и Риск"- не зная кто её модифицировал и как.
Стрёмно всё это!
(Written in Russian)
Sorry - my english is not good enough to write that thing ...
 
Last edited:

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 19:48
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
16,394
Да конечно , это один из вариантов решения.
Но вы будите использовать систему уже на "Свой Страх и Риск"- не зная кто её модифицировал и как.
Стрёмно всё это!
why don't you just shout it out, i don't need to translate that.
 

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 19:48
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
16,394
TPM is a Requirement of Win 11 Installer for it to proceed installing.
It is not a requirement for Win 11 to function properly.
The installer doesn't really care if you "physically" (TPM) have it.
it just "check" the registry for a "Value".
if it does not find that "particular" Value on the registry, it will abort the installation.
you can "fake" the installer that you have TPM, by doing the registry hack.
just adding 1 entry to the registry and the installer will not question and will
proceed installing win 11.

this is advantageous to Lisenced users.
the installer will install whatever version you have, no more, no less.
so if you have Home, you get Win 11 Home, pro you get updated to pro, etc.
plus, you keep your lisence and got win updates.

i have mine installed since july with no problem.
 

Eugene-LS

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 14:48
Joined
Dec 7, 2018
Messages
351
you can "fake" the installer that you have TPM, by doing the registry hack.
Ну = кремень!
Сударь, с вами сложно спорить! ...
На сём и закончим, пожалуй. :)
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 12:48
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
10,546
TPM is a Requirement of Win 11 Installer for it to proceed installing.
It is not a requirement for Win 11 to function properly.
The installer doesn't really care if you "physically" (TPM) have it.
it just "check" the registry for a "Value".
if it does not find that "particular" Value on the registry, it will abort the installation.
you can "fake" the installer that you have TPM, by doing the registry hack.
just adding 1 entry to the registry and the installer will not question and will
proceed installing win 11.

this is advantageous to Lisenced users.
the installer will install whatever version you have, no more, no less.
so if you have Home, you get Win 11 Home, pro you get updated to pro, etc.
plus, you keep your lisence and got win updates.

i have mine installed since july with no problem.
@arnelgp
I have already added that registry hack Usupported TPMorCPU and win 11 still balked.
I am not going to lose any sleep over it, believe me. :D
 

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 19:48
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
16,394
No worry. It worked for me and the others?
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 12:48
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
10,546
I got all the same for my ASUS H97-PLUS Mother Bord, but it has TRM expansion slot (check out that in yours) - already made order for TRM-2 module (20-1 pin) - I will receive it in beginning of November ..
...
Just 1280 RUR = Аpрrox. 16.25 Pounds ...
I know less about hardware than I do software. :(
However if the BIOS does not support it, I doubt it would work?

I see no mention of TPM on either of those computers.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom