How run a query nased on combo box selection (2 Viewers)

Invader89

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 08:29
How run a query based on combo box selection

Hi guys. I'm an access newbie and I have searched for hours online on this subject line stated above.

Last edited:

bob fitz

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 12:29
You need to add some criteria to the query so that it only returns values equal to the one selected in the combo box.
Once a selection is made in the combo box its value is a number representing the Primary Key field of the table it is based on so you would need to add that field to your query first (so that you can then add a reference to the combo box on the form) in the criteria row of the query.
I have done this for you the query called SearchbySupp in the attached db.

However, IMHO it would be better to use the query as the data source and display the results in a form, perhaps as a subform on your main form. I would not expose a query like this to the user.

Last edited:

Invader89

Registered User.
Local time
You need to add some criteria to the query so that it only returns values equal to the one selected in the combo box.
Once a selection is made in the combo box its value is a number representing the Primary Key field of the table it is based on so you would need to add that field to your query first (so that you can then add a reference to the combo box on the form) in the criteria row of the query.
I have done this for you the query called SearchbySupp in the attached db.

However, IMHO it would be better to use the query as the data source and display the results in a form, perhaps as a subform on your main form. I would not expose a query like this to the user.

Thanks so much for the help! Your suggestion sounds good. But how would I go along into showing the results on main form? both the combo boxes will reference different queries so I'm not sure how two subforms will fit on the form if thats the route to take.