Getting to Grips with VB.Net ADO SQL queries (1 Viewer)

GuyCarnegie

Local time
Today, 06:01
Hi there. I'm totally new to access programming & ADO, but am already quite a way on from what I was when I started looking into it yesterday.

I am NOT using msaccess, other than to create the accdb tables in the first place. All user interaction is via a VB.Net application.

So I have this accdb database which I've read a dataset from, and have also bound a datagrid to that dataset. Obviously I had to build a dataadapter to accomodate the connection. I did this from tutorials I found on the net.
The application I'm building is in VB.Net and will be a standalone application which can be used by mulitple users simultaneously to query the single database on a network shared area.
So for the sake of argument, lets say TWO users have the app open. Both have read the data using the DA and both have their DS populated on their DataGrid - I guess each user therefore has captured a "snapshot" of the database to work on. The highest primary key for both users might be "10002345", for example, as they have both have their own snapshot (DS) of the same database.
> User 1 adds a row to the dataset using a the "next" primary key "10002346" and "updates" the DB via the DA.
> User 2 adds a row to the their earlier snapshot of the dataset using the same primary key - generating an error - duplicate key.

So, The solution is for each user to double-check for the maximum primary key immediately before "updating" the DB. They must NOT do this from their own earlier snapshot (DS), but from the DB itself, as the DB might not be as they "photographed" it fort their DS some time earlier.

My Newbie question is: