Database Backup Issue (1 Viewer)

sandy22

Local time
Today, 08:00
Hi All.

I am new to access so not sure if this is normal but I am creating the backup of a database using Save Database As Back Up Database as I have to delete some data. But when I check the data gets deleted from the back up database as well. How can I create a backup without the data being deleted in the back up. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 05:00
Hi. A simple copy and paste from the Windows Explorer works just as well. But if you want a code solution, that's available too.

plog

Banishment Pending
Local time
Today, 07:00
Is the data in tables that exist in the database or linked tables? Linked tables don't actually hold the data, they hold the information needed to link to the external file that table is in. So, you need to back up the table the linked table actually resides in to copy that data.

sandy22

Local time
So I created the back up of both the database and the linked table database. But when I delete the data in the database it still is being deleted from the back up database

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
So I created the back up of both the database and the linked table database. But when I delete the data in the database it still is being deleted from the back up database
Hi. Since we cannot see what you're actually doing, maybe a step-by-step recount of what you did would help us help you figure out what's going on. Just a thought.

sandy22

Local time
Ok so here's what I have done:
I have a Monthly_Report database which has a table rawdata linked to DataRep database.
I need to back up the database and then delete some data from rawdata table So I did the below:
Created back up of Monthly_Report database
Created back up of DataRep database.
Deleted data from rawdata table

And checked the back up to see if that had data but the rawdata table in Monthly_Report database is empty as well

theDBguy