Matching records query (1 Viewer)

KGaccess

Local time
Today, 15:54
I have a database with 5 fields, each field contains serial number records. The same serial number can appear in one or more fields (can be duplicated)

I need to make a query that if I enter a single serial number (ideally from a form), the query searches the whole database and reports the only record rows where the same serial numbers are present.

Any help please?

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 08:54
Hi. When you say "whole database," how many tables are we talking about where this same serial number might be stored?

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 23:54
select field1, field2, field3, field4, field5 from table
where Instr("|" & field1 & "|" & field2 & "|" & field3 & "|" & field4 & "|" & field5 & "|", "|" & Forms!FormName!textbox & "|") > 0

KGaccess

Local time
Its just one database
I am a bit new to this so am assuming from arnelgp response that
Code:
where Instr("|" & field1 & "|" & field2 & "|" & field3 & "|" & field4 & "|" & field5 & "|", "|" & Forms!FormName!textbox & "|") > 0
is the criteria in the query? Does it go in each criteria for all 5 fields?

namliam

The Mailman - AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 16:54
select field1, field2, field3, field4, field5 from table
Really? Sorry to be harsch but that must be the worst way ever to do this.... IMHO offcourse

Do you know how to add criteria to fields ?
Field1 = Forms!FormName!textbox
OR Field2 = Forms!FormName!textbox
OR Field3 = Forms!FormName!textbox
etc

Why would you have a table with 5 field each field containing a serial number, this sounds like a "less than optimal" situation.

KGaccess

Local time
I will try to explain. I have a PCB type. There could be 100 of them so 100 serial numbers of the same PCB.