My Love of Coding (1 Viewer)

Jon

Access World Site Owner
Staff member
Local time
Today, 04:39
Do you feel that sometimes things just feel right? I have been running an Amazon FBA business on the side for the last 5 years but decided to learn some coding again. I am enjoying "work" again! It just seems to sit nicely with me. Doing all those algos, logical constructions and the certainty of it all. Yes! Yes!

Does anyone else feel like this when coding? Have you gone down a side-road by mistake and then come back to what you love, those little lines of code that do amazing things?

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 22:39
Sounds like you were missing those algorasms. But then again, so do I - sometimes.

Isaac

Lifelong Learner
Local time
Yesterday, 20:39
Does anyone else feel like this when coding? Have you gone down a side-road by mistake and then come back to what you love, those little lines of code that do amazing things?
Yes! It is a major source of satisfaction to me.

As far as side roads. I have had a few things here and there shoved at me by bosses or corporate trends that would have killed the joy of coding (Business Analyst positions, Tableau), etc., but I've always come back to those little lines of code that do amazing things.

If I had to choose, I'd rather be writing lines of code in the oldest or most "un-fashionable" thing (VBScript or Excel vba) than be designing without code in the latest fad.

Jon

Access World Site Owner
Staff member
Local time
What do you current code in?

Isaac

Lifelong Learner
Local time
Currently? VBA (Excel/Access) & VBscript.

I'm normally a SQL server developer as well, but in my new job we don't have one yet but are hoping to get one in the next few months.

Reactions: Jon

neuroman9999

Local time
Yes! Yes!

you sound like Elena. but she says it like this: ""yeeesssssss, yeeeeesssss".
sometimes I wonder if she's doing the deed and talking to me at the same time!