What's this madness about Access? (2 Viewers)

KitaYama

Local time
Tomorrow, 00:55
One word : Corruption.

Why Access databases are so sensitive and why corruption is so normal?
Actually everyone I know who works with Access, has already faced a corrupted database more than once or twice and I'm sure most of you have experienced it. If you haven't, it's a matter of time. Don't worry. You'll face it sooner or later.

I know as far as one sits in front of a PC, corruption may occur anytime. But with all the application I have used during past 25 years, none has been normal-to-be-corrupted like Access.
The word Corruption in Access communities is very popular and you can see it through a lot of posts, even here. While using the word "Corruption" in other forums is somehow prohibited.

As an engineer, I've been using a lot of more complex apps than Access for over 25 years and I've never seen a word about corruption in 2D Cad, 3D Cad, Visualize, Simulation, PDM or similar communities. Or it's been so rare that I don't even remember it.

We had a corrupted FE the other day. The FE was used to input data in SQL server database. It didn't contain any table. more than 40 forms, several reports and queries and modules. Replacing a backup solved the problem. But still it left a bad taste in me.

Galaxiom

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Tomorrow, 02:55
Your experience is nothing like mine. I found corruption to be vary rare and I've been using Access for seventeen years.

Do you have multiple users sharing the same front end file?

Last edited:

sonic8

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 16:55
I've been using a lot of more complex apps than Access for over 25 years and I've never seen a word about corruption in 2D Cad, 3D Cad, Visualize, Simulation, PDM or similar communities.
OK, fine. Now get 20 or more users to open and edit one and the same file in one these "complex" apps at the same time. - After that, let's talk about corruption...