255 Column Limit (1 Viewer)

naa123

Local time
Today, 10:55
Hi,

I am a beginner with Access, so apologies if this question has a very obvious answer/has been answered before.

I am hoping to use Microsoft Access to store a large master database which will consist of 5 individual databases combined. The individual databases have around 350 columns and my hope was to import these individually and then create a query to combine them into one. I realised very quickly that Access has a 255 column limit when importing data, so then I decided to split each individual database and import into tables that way. However, I realise this doesn't solve my problem as after importing data into smaller tables that Access will handle, I cannot then combine the data into a master database with 350 columns - too many fields are defined in the query.

What I would like to know is, is there any way to run a query in Access which will allow me to create a master database of more than 255 columns?

To give a bit of context around the individual databases - they are databases of cases seen in a health care setting. Cases have completed measures which have a large number of items.

Thank you in advance for any advice.

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 04:55
First, this is your first post, so welcome to the forum!

Without knowing the detailed structure of your data, I can only guess. However, it SOUNDS like you have a normalization problem. Having 350 columns is not impossible in real life because Excel can do that. But it lacks other abilities that would make life easier for data analysis.