Access frontend data not updated into SQL server even after migration (1 Viewer)

manusri

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 04:46
Hi all,
I have a complex Access database with a lot of Subforms and related tables. It is used by atleast 10 people with minimum of 3 users in there at the same time. The database is growing and causing problems. the IT team at my company suggested i migrate the data to SQL backend. Now i am a beginner when it comes to SQL and blindly(not really... your forum help me understand what i was doing) followed their instructions.

IT configured the SQL server for me so i started with Management studio,

1. Create a new "database" in the management studio.
2. Open SSMA and follow the wizard to link, convert, load and migrate access objects (tables in my case) into the database you created.
3. After conversions, take care of any errors and warnings.
4. Save the project and exit.

My front end users have used the database with no hitches since then.
Now, when i go back into the SSMA and look at the SQL Metadata, it dint store/update any data changes made on the front end (Access database). When i try only "Migrating" the data again it says "No Objects were selected".

How do i migrate/update data from the access front end to SQL server back end. I feel i am missing a big piece here but the IT team here is saying i will have to unlink the tables everytime and then re link, convert, load and migrate to get updated data. and that is the only way.

The whole idea behind moving it to SQL server was so there is no data loss when the front end crashes for any reason. I have suggested going .NET but, my company does not have enough resources for that. Can you please help me fix this issue.

Galaxiom

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 21:46
The front end should not have any data in it. All data should be in the back end whether that is Access or SQL Server.