Solved Access keeps crashing when trying to open ACCDB master file (MS Access for Microsoft 365 MSO 64-bit) (1 Viewer)

AOB

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 12:10
Hi there,

I've been making some modifications recently to an Access DB that's been in production for several years. Standard FE/BE split design, single BE ACCDB sitting on a network drive and distributed FE ACCDE's. I have a master copy of the FE locally and I make whatever updates are necessary there, test and generate the ACCDE and distribute as necessary.

For some reason, in the last two days, whenever I try to open the local master ACCDB (with the recent modifications in it, ready to deploy), Access keeps crashing. Every single time, without fail. This is the dialog that appears :

Microsoft-Access-Has-Stopped-Working.png

This has only started happening in the last day or two - I was able to open it with no issues at the start of the week. So I presumed I must have changed something I shouldn't have. However :
  • If I hold the Shift key when opening the file (to prevent any code running), it opens no problem
  • I do have an AutoExec macro which kicks off some basic startup routines - but none of that process has changed in 2 years - and this problem didn't exist 3 days ago
  • The VBA Project compiles with no issue and I've tested the code and there is nothing untoward within it (Option Explicit, Option Compare Database etc. all present)
  • I've Compacted & Repaired the file multiple times but it has no effect
  • I've decompiled the file, then C&R + recompile + C&R again, close - still crashes when I try to reopen it
  • I've created a brand new blank database and imported all the tables, forms, queries, modules, macros etc. - but still can't open it
  • I've tried saving it as an ACCDE but I get the same crash message each time
  • I've plenty of system resource (CPU + memory) at my disposal and have tried rebooting the device just in case but no effect