Access vs .NET (1 Viewer)

zeroaccess

Local time
Today, 01:10
I'm the developer of an Access application that I will also use myself in my line of work.

Sometimes I hear ideas thrown around by management regarding a web interface, which is a whole different ballgame and would require a complete rewrite and another year+ of development time. Most of it learning as I am not a programmer. And I can't imagine the company shelling out hundreds of dollars per month for a Visual Studio license or whatever else is needed to make that happen, for a program with 20 users in one office. Which, will rely on the PDF reports generated by the program, which if I'm understanding correctly, would not be possible from the web. At least not easily. And that's not even mentioning other pitfalls such as reliance on the internet.

I decided to do a bit of searching for facts on this topic, but ran into many opinions, expectedly.

Here are some of the answers I found - some by people who seem to lack the qualifications (Access experience?) to answer the question yet can't help but offer their own speculation.

https://softwareengineering.stackex...882/database-gui-programming-net-vs-ms-access

Here is I think a more reasonable discussion: https://stackoverflow.com/questions...from-ms-access-application-to-net-application

Also: https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/F...ase-scalability-how-many-users-can-it-support

What is your take?

MajP

You've got your good things, and you've got mine.
Local time
Today, 02:10