Solved Adding a page to a pdf (2 Viewers)

Sun_Force

Local time
Today, 20:13
I think I'm expecting too much of VBA, but is there any way to add a page to a pdf file?
Let's say I have a pdf file, and I want to add another pdf as a new page to it. Or simply combine these two pdfs.

Is there any chance I can do it with vba?
Both files' path is saved in a table in MS Access.

Thanks for any kind of thought/idea/advice.

Edit : Microsoft 365
Adobe Acrobat Pro

Last edited:

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 06:13
Since you have Adobe Acrobat Pro, there is a good chance you have a library file that you can use. That question isn't whether Access can do what you want. It is whether Access can persuade Adobe Acrobat Pro to do what you want. I have no direct experience with this, but the general idea would be to (a) figure out to do what you want manually (and take notes), then (b) open Adobe as an application object and have Access perform the appropriate commands from VBA. That is because usually, if you have a .DLL or other type of library that exposes Component Object Model automation, that automation mirrors the Windows UI.

This article suggests that such a library exists and demonstrates how to start using it from VBA.

You might have to research more articles online, but this extremely strongly suggests that what you want is doable. Sadly, at this point I must step away because I don't have that product and can't offer much in the way of guidance beyond that starting point.

sxschech

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 04:13
PDFtk Server works well for me. Here is a code sample snippet to merge files. The first part of the code checks if pdftk is installed so that it won't try to run if not available.

Code:
    If InStr(Environ("Path"), "pdftk") = 0 Then
        MsgBox "It appears that PDF tool kit is not installed on this computer.  " & _
                "Please refer to user guide for instructions on how to install it. " & _