Append Query Key violation (1 Viewer)

ellenr3608

Local time
Yesterday, 22:39
Hello! I am a self taught access user trying to make sense of the true costs of making my jewelry. I am using a template that I found within the access program and rather than "recreate the wheel" I enter any new inventory a few weeks until I started getting this message:

"Microsoft Access set 0 filed(s) to Null due to a type conversion failure, and it didn't add 417 records to the table due to key violations, 0 record(s) due to lock violations, and 0 record(s) due to validation rule violations."

I have been trying to solve this on my own but am stumped. The problem seems to be due to key violations. My Primary key is set to "yes, no duplicates" other columns are set to "Yes(allow duplicates"

Any idea what the problem is?

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 03:39
Just what it tells you. The keys already exist.?

Are you trying to append data that you have previously appended.?

Can you explain the steps you take.?

ellenr3608

Local time
Sorry I am a very green user. Yes I am trying to append data previously append as well as the new data.

What I do is add the new data to my table I created in the template. Then I run the append query and get the error. It would seem to me that the new data would add on to the already existing one. I made the new table as it allows me a little more freedom with what I want to have included but did't want to mess up the original template.

Hope this makes sense and I am not doing something really dense.

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
You need someway to only add the new data. How would you identify new data in you data entry table.? Alternatively delete all the old data and re append, but I would not do that until we find out exactly what you are doing, else you might lose some data.

I would have thought you would just add new inventory directly to the table through a form, as you have to enter it somewhere anyway.?