Append records to existing database (1 Viewer)

AndyL63

Local time
Today, 11:56
Upfront - I am a newbie to Access (so be gentle!).

I am converting an flat excel file containing sale and purchase transactions to an Access relational database - 12 out of the 37 columns have repeating values. I have created individual tables for these values and the base table of transactions is linked to them. I can query the data, so everything seems to work correctly, but now I need to add data. The input comes from excel in the same flat file format.

I have tried a number of queries, but they don't append correctly. I can't share the data as it is confidential, but will work up a simple example. In the meantime, if anyone has any pointers - I would appreciate it!

jdraw

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 04:56
Welcome to the forum.
I recommend that you describe in simple terms what the spreadsheet represents in a little more detail.
You mention 37 fields --what are these in terms of business subjects/entities? A graphic showing your tables and relationships would be helpful. (or post a copy of the evolving database in zip format)
As for adding new data, search the forum for importing data from csv file for some ideas.

AndyL63

Local time
Thanks jdraw. Unfortunately I can't share the data as it is confidential but I have created a simple example of what I am trying to do. I have searched, but I can't find what I am looking for, probably because I am missing something!

Attached is a very simple database. The [Original Data] table is the original excel file imported. The TransactionDatabase is the database version - created by analyzing the [Original Data] table - so has a link to the TransactionType table. I want to append the [New Data] table (another imported excel file) to the TransactionsDatabase.

Attachments

• Simple append.zip
    23 KB · Views: 79

jdraw

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
A few points for consideration: