Auto populate dates that can be overwitten? (1 Viewer)

CupKat

Local time
Today, 13:36
Access noob here :)
I have a form for worker timesheet information, with a continuous subform for entering days worked in a specific period. The subform has a period start date and a period end date, both currently manually entered. Most, but not all of the time, the period start will be a Monday and the period end will be the following Sunday. I would like for period end to automatically set to 6 days following the period start, but to be able to manually overwrite this (for some workers it's 1st of the month until the last day of the month).
Even better would be if, once the period start has been set on one row, it not only fills in period end to be 6 days later, but also sets the next row to be the start of the following week (again with the option to overwrite this, ideally). Is this possible, and if so, how would I go about it? I have played around a little bit with DateAdd() but not found a way to make this work yet. Any ideas would be most appreciated.

MajP

You've got your good things, and you've got mine.
Local time
Today, 08:36
on the start period after update event

Code:
If isNull(me.EndPeriod) then me.endPeriod = me.startPeriod + 6

For the consecutive rows I would make a small function to find the max endPeriod date for that worker. It might be something like

Code:
Public GetMaxEnd(EmployeeID as long) as date
  GetMaxEnd = nz(dMax("EndPeriod","tblWithDates", "EmployeeID = " & employeeID),Date())
end date

Then in the on current event
Code:
me.startPeriod.defaultvalue = GetMaxEnd(me.Parent.employeeID) + 1

I assume this is the form with a subform and the employeeID is on the mainform

Last edited:

MajP

Local time
FYI dates are not stored like you think. They are a number with an integer part and the decimal part. The integer part is the days since 1/31/1899
So todays date is actually
and tomorrow is