Autofill Combo Box based on Field Value (1 Viewer)

Smokeeater

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 05:17
Joined
Jan 15, 2009
Messages
58
In short, I am trying to do something I have never tried before, so I do not have any previous examples to use.

I have two forms, FORM A & FORM B
I have [FIELD1] that I select the value in FORM A. That same value is then 'auto-filled' on FORM B.

Also on FORM B is [ComboBox1] that has between 12-15 choices. What I am trying to do is requery [ComboxBox1] so it only shows values based on the auto-filled [FIELD1] value.

I understand how to sync two different combo's, but what I am wanting to do here is a little different based on syncing a combo box to a field value.

I thought about using the 'AfterUpdate' function, but technically I am not even touching [FIELD1] in FORM B, so I do believe that is a viable option.

Any assistance or ideas is greatly appreciated.
 

sneuberg

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 02:17
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
3,506
In short, I am trying to do something I have never tried before, so I do not have any previous examples to use.

I have two forms, FORM A & FORM B
I have [FIELD1] that I select the value in FORM A.

Is FIELD1 the field the combo is bound to or the row source?

That same value is then 'auto-filled' on FORM B.
I don't understand. Autofilled where? Autofilled how?

Also on FORM B is [ComboBox1] that has between 12-15 choices. What I am trying to do is requery [ComboxBox1] so it only shows values based on the auto-filled [FIELD1] value.

Please give us the deals. Where are these 12-15 choices coming from. A query? Table? Based on the auto-filled value how?
 

Smokeeater

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 05:17
Joined
Jan 15, 2009
Messages
58
Q-Is FIELD1 the field the combo is bound to or the row source?

A-Yes, it is tied to a query

-----

Q - I don't understand. Autofilled where? Autofilled how?
A- There is a record# combo box on FORM B. When you select the record #, several of the other fields are auto-filled based on the inputted data on FORM A.

-----
Q-Where are these 12-15 choices coming from. A query? Table?
A- Yes, a query.

Thanks so much.
 

sneuberg

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 02:17
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
3,506
I'm still not getting this but I suppose if you want to requery [ComboBox1] from form A assuming form B has the name "B" then I think some afterupdate on A would have something like:

Code:
Forms!B!Combobox1.Requery

Perhaps if uploadyour database so that I can see what this looks like I'll be able to get what you want to do.
 

Smokeeater

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 05:17
Joined
Jan 15, 2009
Messages
58
sneuberg, thank you so much. Let me play with that event and see if I can work something out. I have a couple other ideas too since I posted my original post.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom