Automatically Send a notification email once a record is added (1 Viewer)

Levar65

Local time
Today, 01:52
I am new to Access. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I have created a helpdesk service request DB.
The user enters the pertinent info into a form. At the button of the form I have placed a command button with an On Click embedded macro that Saves and Closes. I would like to incorporate into that same button the task to automatically send a notification email to our helpdesk email address. I would imagine that the send email command would have to be place in between the SaveRecord and CloseWindow commands in the macro.

I'd like the email to included certain fields from the record that was just entered and saved; ID, Dept, User name, Issue, and Problem Description.

Record table: tblTickets
Record entry form: frmITTickets
Command Button: cbtSaveClose

Thank you in advance for any help you may provide.

Last edited:

pbaldy

Wino Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 22:52
Most of us use VBA rather than macros. There is an action titled "EmailDatabaseObject" that will let you send an email using the user's default mail client. You can refer to form controls in the body.

Levar65

Local time
Thank you for your response.

I tried "EmailDatabaseObject" and set up as follows:
Object type: Form
Object Name: frmITTickets
Output format: Text files
To: email address
Subject: New Help Desk Service Request Ticket

It did create an email but it doesn't automatically send it. It won't send it until the send button is pressed. Also, it attaches a report with ALL records. I only need the record that was just saved to preferably appear in the body of the email and not as an attachment. Is this possible thru a macro?

Is what I'm trying to achieve only possible by using VBA?

pbaldy

Wino Moderator
Staff member
Local time