Barcode Height (1 Viewer)

RevJeff

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 02:22
Joined
Sep 18, 2002
Messages
106
Is there a way of increasing the barcode height in a text field on a report without increasing the length? I am just trying to make the lines longer.

Thanks
 

Uncle Gizmo

Nifty Access Guy
Staff member
Local time
Today, 07:22
Joined
Jul 9, 2003
Messages
11,617
Have you tried stretching the textbox the bar-code is presented in vertically? Making it a little bit taller?
 

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Yesterday, 22:22
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
3,075
AFAIK, textbox does not stretch fonts, barcode or otherwise. Watched a YouTube confirming that.

Images can be stretched but barcode is a font set.

Read a discussion indicating stretching barcode lines can make them non-functional. So even if could in Access, probably shouldn't.
 
Last edited:

Uncle Gizmo

Nifty Access Guy
Staff member
Local time
Today, 07:22
Joined
Jul 9, 2003
Messages
11,617
textbox does not stretch fonts, barcode or otherwise.
I guessed as much. I haven't got anything with bar code fonts in to test it at the moment.

There was a recent thread HERE:-

VBA barcode code generator not working

That thread shows a bar-code being drawn on the report with some special software.

In other words it doesn't use a font.

I think it would be possible to increase the height of the bar-code "BAR LINES" with the special software and make a bigger barcode.

I can't understand why the OP wants a bigger barcode? I never had any problems with them in that respect.
 

Uncle Gizmo

Nifty Access Guy
Staff member
Local time
Today, 07:22
Joined
Jul 9, 2003
Messages
11,617
I've just done a test using a Sample Microsoft Access Database containing James Isle Mercanti's VBA for Generating a Bar-code and indeed you stretch the text box size in any way you want and the bar-code will fill it exactly! So you can have a short fat bar code or a long thin barcode, whatever you want, using that particular software.

The VBA Bar-code generator code is also provided by the OP of the other thread, this thread here:-

VBA bar-code code generator not working
 

Wayne

Crazy Canuck
Local time
Today, 02:22
Joined
Nov 4, 2012
Messages
176
Hi Gizmo,

Where did you get that VBA for generating bar codes?

Wayne
 

Uncle Gizmo

Nifty Access Guy
Staff member
Local time
Today, 07:22
Joined
Jul 9, 2003
Messages
11,617
Where did you get that VBA for generating bar codes?
The VBA Bar-code generator code is also provided by the OP of the other thread, this thread here:-

VBA bar-code code generator not working
 

Wayne

Crazy Canuck
Local time
Today, 02:22
Joined
Nov 4, 2012
Messages
176
Thanks Gizmo. I'll play around with it in my sandbox.

Wayne
 

Uncle Gizmo

Nifty Access Guy
Staff member
Local time
Today, 07:22
Joined
Jul 9, 2003
Messages
11,617
There are some issues with it if you're using it on 64-bit Access 2016. See the problem and a possible solution in the other thread.
 

Wayne

Crazy Canuck
Local time
Today, 02:22
Joined
Nov 4, 2012
Messages
176
Thanks Gizmo. I do have 64-bit Windows, and Access 2019. Same issues?

Wayne
 

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Yesterday, 22:22
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
3,075
Issue is with 64-bit Access, not 64-bit Windows.
 

Uncle Gizmo

Nifty Access Guy
Staff member
Local time
Today, 07:22
Joined
Jul 9, 2003
Messages
11,617
I do have 64-bit Windows, and Access 2019. Same issues?
Give the code a try on your version of MS Access and please report back if it is successful or not.
 

RevJeff

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 02:22
Joined
Sep 18, 2002
Messages
106
I guessed as much. I haven't got anything with bar code fonts in to test it at the moment.

There was a recent thread HERE:-

VBA barcode code generator not working

That thread shows a bar-code being drawn on the report with some special software.

In other words it doesn't use a font.

I think it would be possible to increase the height of the bar-code "BAR LINES" with the special software and make a bigger barcode.

I can't understand why the OP wants a bigger barcode? I never had any problems with them in that respect.
The barcodes are being printed on labels and forklift users need to be able to scan them at a distance. It is just easier for them if they were taller.
 

RevJeff

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 02:22
Joined
Sep 18, 2002
Messages
106
I've just done a test using a Sample Microsoft Access Database containing James Isle Mercanti's VBA for Generating a Bar-code and indeed you stretch the text box size in any way you want and the bar-code will fill it exactly! So you can have a short fat bar code or a long thin barcode, whatever you want, using that particular software.

The VBA Bar-code generator code is also provided by the OP of the other thread, this thread here:-

VBA bar-code code generator not working
I will give it a shot. Thank you.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top Bottom