(barcode)scanning customer/Storenr and set the fields of the next productbarcodes (1 Viewer)

killerflappy

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 07:42
Hi. I’m a beginner in Access VBA.

I started a learning project for scanning and matching barcodes. We receive shipments (physical) and orderfiles from a couple of customers. In these orderfiles we get the barcode, storenumber, shippingdate en quantity. We put these files combined in the tblOrders. We sort products of these shipments by route and store. The stores of different customers are sorted in one route. We scan the barcodes to match with the orderfiles and make documentation for drivers. The barcodes identify the customer, store, product and quantity.

After sorting the products by route and store, sometimes a product is placed at the wrong store.

At the moment I use a complex Excel (no VBA) file and before I scan the barcodes of the products I first scan the barcode witch has the Custstr in it. This automatically detected because it start with letters. I puts the customer and the storenumber in separate columns until the new Custstr is scanned. This is done with some If/and formula’s that checks for the first letters of the customers name.

In access I try to copy this proces, The scanproces is very simple and flexible Datasheet View. In the attached access-file the user is scanning the barcodes in the FrmMutations.

With my current frmMutations I can't notice when a product is sorted at a wrong store. In the attached access-file I want to be able to scan the barcode of a Custstr (see tblStore) and then automatically populate the Customer en Storenr of the FrmMutations for the next productbarcodes, until I scan the next Custstr.