Bound or Unbound (1 Viewer)

TurboDieselOne

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 03:57
I'm just getting into unbound forms and using querys to update table and am finding the forms a lot quicker in loading and the data a lot safer but the work in the design is far more extensive than I though as every action and reaction has to be coded. But the experianced gained may be fruitful in my further development in this field. Enough about me. What I wish to bring to the fore front is this.

A databse on a server in a peer-peer network and a front end with just the forms but no tables what so ever the qrys actually update the Backend as it foes with all the forms so no one gets more than they ask for and the network may actualy be faster. Is this trualy possible?

WayneRyan

AWF VIP
Local time
Turbo,

That is definitely possible! The performance gains that you
mention are very attractive to some users. Access over a
network can be a very slow and cumbersome thing.

By going with unbound forms, you can substantially reduce
the amount of network traffic and have a very quick-loading
and quick-running app.

However, the cost of developing the database skyrockets. There
are many things that Access does for the developer that you
will have to forgo or do yourself in code.

Additionally, there are some very subtle things to consider.
If you are using SQL Inserts and/or Updates these are very
prone to "invisible" failures. They fail, but do not
communicate it to your software. Failures due to required
fields missing, etc.

It is a very worthwhile ambition, I would tend to vote
against it, but it will be interesting to see what other
opinions are on this topic.

btw, I'm a little biased. The worst app that I have ever
written was an equipment purchasing system that specified
unbound forms reflecting the modification history with delta
math making it a transactional based system. It worked, but
it was twenty times harder than it could have been and had
many, very subtle bugs.

Wayne