Compact/Repair problem (1 Viewer)

element of prime

Local time
Today, 03:05
Hi,
I'm an amateur Access user, who has built up a dbase of considerable complexity over the years.

Just how amateur I am: I've accidentally clicked on the Compact/Repair button, when I was not intending to do anything of the sort.

The database went white, I got scared and closed it. (Why isn't there a prompt if I really want to do that?)

Now I cannot open it and get the message "File already in use".

Whatta hell is going on here? Is there a way to recover it the way it was before? I'm pretty desperate.

Thanks.

Ranman256

Local time
Yesterday, 22:05
you shouldnt exit the app while its compacting. you could corrupt it. Compacting is good , but dont stop it.
there should be a BACKUP copy in the same folder that gets created when compacting.
use that.
if that fails, restore from 1 of your backup copies. you do backup regularly right?

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 19:05
Hi. Welcome to AWF!

Have you tried rebooting the computer? Is this is a split database?

Isaac

Lifelong Learner
Local time
Hi,
I'm an amateur Access user, who has built up a dbase of considerable complexity over the years.

Just how amateur I am: I've accidentally clicked on the Compact/Repair button, when I was not intending to do anything of the sort.

The database went white, I got scared and closed it. (Why isn't there a prompt if I really want to do that?)

Now I cannot open it and get the message "File already in use".

Whatta hell is going on here? Is there a way to recover it the way it was before? I'm pretty desperate.

Thanks.
I agree, they should have a confirmation prompt on that. I put one on any non-trivial thing that's "too easy" to accidentally press.