Copying a database without retaining links to the original file (1 Viewer)

tony1892

Local time
Today, 06:50
I am brand new to access and I've been asked to look at a database.

My problem is that when I copy it from a networked area to my hard drive the links between the 2 are retained. I only discovered this after deleteting 100k+ records....!

It's likely that I've created a shortcut to the original but all the obvious checks suggest that I havent (database properties give the location of c:\) and it also took several minutes to copy the database from the networked drive to my c:\ drive.

I know they are linked not only because the 2 files update no matter which drive I modify, but also because if I unplug my LAN connection I can't open the database from my c:\ - it gives an 'object variable or with block variable not set' error.

This is probably something very simple but like I say I've never used access in anything other than a user capacity up until now. All help gratefully received.

Dennisk

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 13:50
you need to copy both frontend and backend to a seperate development area. Then re-link the tables from the fdevelopment rontend to the development backend.

gemma-the-husky

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
what happens is that the front end effectively stores the connection path to the back end (actually each table vcarries its own connection information)

moving or copying the front end, just copies the same connection path - so if the network path is valid on the new machine/folder, the app will run without problem.

this is good in some respects - eg, if you reissue a database with added functionality, you can connect it to the backend, and then distribute - without the users needing to relink the files.

however, if you dont realise this will happen, you could inadvertently delete stuff you really do need

tony1892

Local time
Today, 06:50